Skip Navigation

Defense Health Agency

"On October 1, 2013, the Department of Defense established the Defense Health Agency (DHA) to manage the activities of the Military Health System. These activities include those previously managed by TRICARE Management Activity (TMA), which was disestablished on the same date. During the next several months, all TMA websites will change to reflect the new DHA. We appreciate your patience during this transition."


The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) requires that the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) adopt standard unique identifiers for employers, health plans, patients and providers to be used in HIPAA Electronic Transactions. To date, HHS has named the following standard identifiers to be used by the industry:

  • Employer Identifier Number (EIN) as the Standard Unique Employer Identifier

  • National Provider Identifier (NPI) as the Standard Unique Health Care Provider Identifier

  • Unique Health Plan Identifiers (HPID) as the Standard Identifiers for Health Plans

  • Other Entity Identifier (OEID) will function as an identifier for entities that are not health plans, health care providers, or individuals that need to be identified in standard transactions.

  • Identifiers for patients have yet to be named by HHS.

More information regarding the NPI, EIN and HPID can be found at the links below:

National Provider Identifier

Employer Identifier Number

Unique Health Plan Identifier

Identifiers NPRMs and Final Rules

* For TRICARE HIPAA Privacy and Security pages, please click here.